MAY 6, 2014 – PMSP, Chumash Trail to La Jolla Valley

Driving by the dirt parking lot at the bottom of the Chumash Trail always brought back memories of slipping and sliding down from the top in 2008. I never considered going UP the super steep 7,000 year old trail until I saw that it was the shortest way, by far, to reach a string of caches in La Jolla Valley. So up I went, slowly, stopping to sit on several very conveniently placed flat rocks.
050414_01_sign
The early morning haze and cool breeze made the 40 minute climb to the ‘saddle’ bearable. Here’s the view from there looking into the valley.
050414_02_valley
This is the view looking backward from the same spot, which is also where the Chumash Trail turns into the Mugu Peak Trail. All of the many muggles turned East toward Mugu Peak.
050414_03_ocean
I hiked West on a barely visible use trail to find 3 caches ending at (GC1JGGP) High Above the See Bees hidden by BWidget. The mostly flat walk here was a relief. Lines of arranged rocks, often breaking off into adjoining squares led me to think that the area was once a very scenic campsite, maybe for the Boy Scouts who still frequent the park.
050414_04_mars
The haze began to clear, leaving a great view of the Mugu wetlands and Naval Base Ventura County.
050414_05_seebee
I went back to the saddle and continued into the valley which was bright yellow with mustard plants. I turned right at the loop trail for 4 caches.
050414_06_mustard
The ground was covered by shell fragments. There were scallops, mussels and 2 types of clams. All of them are very edible species. I’d like to imagine that the Chumash carried them live, over the same trail I took, cooked them and threw out the shells. And speaking of food, I’ve decided to research wild mustard seed harvesting and DIY mustard making.
050414_07_midden
There were 3 easy finds and then my lone DNF of the day, (GC470VE) A Sticky One. I retraced my steps to the trail junction and turned North for 5 more caches. I didn’t encounter another person during my entire time in the valley. But now I see that other cachers visited the next cache beyond GZ for this picture of Tri-Peaks/Boney Mountain.
050414_08_tripeaks
I found 12 of the 13 caches visited and reversed course. Walking back, 2 turkey vultures buzzed just overhead and I almost inhaled a butterfly. At least there was a great view of the Laguna Peak Radar Station.
050414_09_laguna
At home I saw that I’d missed the parking lot cache. dOH!!

One Response to MAY 6, 2014 – PMSP, Chumash Trail to La Jolla Valley

  1. coakford says:

    La Jolla Valley is one of my favorite local spots. I hope if comes back well from the fire. Good to see mustard blooms. Thanks for the report.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

