DECEMBER 29, 2008 – Oxnard

Every one of my 16 days in a row off are presenting me with a dweeb’s dilemma. Should I go caching or should I do the cleanup and home maintenance that accumulated BECAUSE I went caching too often? My vacation is more than ½ over and so far I’ve found 135 caches and my place looks worse than ever. There’s a practical limit to how long this can continue. Soon, I won’t be able to find my computer to plan any more caching runs. Until then here are some highlights of the last few days. (more to follow soon – off schedule)

While normal people were out shopping for post-Christmas bargains or staying home, EMC of Northridge, robb_dogg, BWidget and I went to Oxnard for a day of caching. To Elin, Robb & Bill a 1 day run of 100+ caches isn’t a big deal. To me 15 caches in a day is good, 25 is great and reaching 30 is extraordinary. So at 31 caches, they had a ‘slow caching’ day and mine was ‘extraordinary.’
122608_guardrail
Bill & Robb find a classic guardrail cache.

We used my Honda Element because it has the headroom/legroom needed to accommodate the anomalously high average height of my caching friends (of which Robb & Bill are NOT the 2 tallest). Any basketball coach seeing all of them walking together would be envious.

Oxnard has a large number and wide variety of caches but it isn’t very scenic. More info: click. As a ‘casual’ (no formal goals or pre-determined routing) expedition, we made up the route on the fly. It was very entertaining to watch 2 TYPE A personalities, Elin & Robb, try mightily to get us to go in opposite directions at the same time without losing control. Bill & I sat back and took it all in. How boring it would be if everyone agreed 100% all of the time.

On the way, we learned that ANYONE can become a geocacher!!
122608_7-11_gps
Sorry, we should’ve checked it out & reported…

A rock hide inside a parking structure w/no satellite reception.
122608_subterranean
As obsessed cachers, we’ll go just about anywhere to find a cache.

But as non-suicidal cachers, we didn’t go here. “Nice Cujo, Diablo…”
122608_no_cache_here
Fortunately, the cache ended up behind us.

We had an unusually high number of DNFs (Did Not Find). This was one of them.
122608_another_dnf
We started for home at sunset when the temperature began to drop quickly. More days off..more caches…details to follow. I feel a rant coming on too.

Leave a Reply

