December 31, 2008 – closing rant

I’d like to mentally evolve to the point where “numbers” aren’t important. This won’t happen anytime soon without the intervention of a mental health professional. Unfortunately, the only one I know found more than twice as many caches as I did in 2008! But I found 617 fewer in 2008 than in 2006 so maybe I’ve made progress on my own.

Anyway, not counting the trips detailed in my last 3 posts, during the final week of the year I found 32 caches in Downey (2-trips), 16 in Burbank and a handful of others scattered all over. All 50+ were urban hides so photo ops were few and non-scenic.

Downey: world’s most ancient, still functioning McDonalds
122408_mcd
The prices are modern though.

There’s a cache there: Your Kind of Place (GCK61H). There’s also a burger museum on the property – free admission.

Downey: A weird combination shares the building and parking lot.
122408_weird_combo
There IS a cache a few feet from where I took this picture.

This is the 2nd time I’ve seen a cacher do this:
122908_elin_lamp1EMC finds, grabs, signs and returns a cache without leaving her car.

RANT: When confronted with a complaint, cache owners will often say, “If you don’t like my cache, don’t log it.” Fine! But that doesn’t erase the seeker’s nightmarish experience of seeing & smelling an absolutely putrid ground zero. Here are 2 of the worst I’ve encountered. The second one had the added attraction of unfriendly locals glaring at me from nearby. I left both areas quickly. I then deleted the caches from my GPS without looking at the hiders’ names for fear of exploding into a verbal rant if I ever meet them. So if these are your cache sites, don’t tell me. As my grandmother would’ve said, “Shame on you!!”

122808_shame

122808_why1


Now some contrarian is going to crawl out of the woodwork and say that s/he doesn’t understand the problem. Happy Caching to you!! We’ll probably see you on the 6:00 o’clock news after you’ve been beaten to a pulp by hostile natives, dumped into the trash and have succumbed to toxic fumes.

STUFF: A major irritation of middle age is presbyopia, the loss of ability to focus on close-in objects, especially reading material at indoor light levels. Annoying glasses can mostly handle the small print. And now I’ve found a way to address the low light level situation, cheaply. I can read cache printouts and lists again!!

The “Y” adaptor is $2.47 at Walmart and the 4 pack of CFC bulbs is 99.99 cents at the 99¢ Only Store.
picture-005.
Two “23 watt” CFC bulbs provide the same light output as two “100 watt” old style incandescent bulbs. Energy consumption is (23 x 2 = 46 watts) as opposed to (100 x 2 = 200 watts) for the same illumination.

The discount CFC bulbs don’t seem to be inferior in any way to the major brands.
123108_cfc

(50¢ for 2 generic CFC bulbs) Vs. ($7.49 at Walmart for 1 GE CFC bulb with the same output as a “150 watt” incandescent bulb)

Happy New Year and more caches for all.

One Response to December 31, 2008 – closing rant

  1. Richard N6UZS says:

    I bought that same 4 pack of Feit brand CFC bulbs at Vons for just $1 about a year ago when they were introduced. Never saw that same price again. Consumers Reports rates them highly as well. Good choice my friend!

Leave a Reply

