FEBRUARY 23, 2009 – Venice & Marina Del Rey

Another dry & cloudy weekend… I went back to the urban coast, this time a little further South of nano-land to Venice, the marina and Culver City. Venice was jam packed as always and I was very lucky to yet again find an unmetered parking spot from which I walked to 4 caches.

This paseo to the beach definitely had a tropical feel, even though the weather was cloudy and only 65 degrees.
022109_tropical_feel
It was too cold to lay out, but perfect for basketball.
022109_basketball
This was the view from next to Jenny & Peter at Muscle Beach (GCWF7Z). About .3 miles South down the walking path I found Jesus Rocks (GC1K77E) but didn’t see Jesus. (You’ll know when you’re there.) This cache would probably be impossible to retrieve & return during the summer when the walkway is a sea of muggles.

So far it’s the realm of made-for-cable, disaster movies. But after the great 2004 Asian tsunami no one is taking any chances.
022109_tsunami1
I saw more signs like this a mile inland!

While walking back to my car I COULDN’T pass up this photo op at a random intersection.
022109_random_venice
It’s just soooo wrong on so many levels.

Driving South to the marina I stopped at Lil Kim’s Dirty 30 Cache (GC1EFAX). Somehow again, I got the 1 open non-metered parking space, directly across from the very unscenic cache.
022109_unscenic
Unfortunately some REALLY GROSS objects at the EXACT coordinates caused me to run back to my car without searching for the cache.

A few minutes later I finally reached a familiar spot. For 25 years I rode my 10-speed through here from Santa Monica to Torrance several times every summer. I hated the aggressive skaters who tried to take over the bike path. Today I was glad to see that the problem is now under control.
022109_giant_bird
It’s a giant bird just after he finished off a skater. Mmm Mmm good.

I found Pacific End (GC10VYG) nearby and then walked to the end of the partially paved jetty. There are supposed to be 2 caches there. I didn’t find either one. Fishermen were guarding “their” spots near both. So I think that the caches are gone. BTW there’s an “ABM” at
Pacific Ballona (GC1BYAF)
. ABM? See my Dec 8, 2008 blog posting.
022109_get_along_1
I finished the day with a burst of 11 Culver City “numbers” caches and went home to write this blog. Thanks to everyone who hid these and the other caches I found (or didn’t).

One Response to FEBRUARY 23, 2009 – Venice & Marina Del Rey

  1. I dunno… my raven was a good knee-high… might have to have a bird-off.

Leave a Reply

