MARCH 9, 2009 – vegetation hides

March 16: Due to a temporary eye problem I need to reduce my computer time. Given that I still have to go to work during the week and find/log caches on the weekends, Dweeb’s Diatribe has to suffer. Updates will be sporadic for the next few months until my eye gets better. I’m still around though. See you on the trail!!

March 9, 2009: I was going to write about my cache run in San Dimas. There were many creative and unique hides, especially by Terra Girl and UNCLEJON91. As amazing as they were, pictures or detailed descriptions would spoil the fun and probably REALLY P.O. Aimee and Jon. I once saw a dead bird in Riverside with a Terra Girl sticker on it so I wouldn\’t want her to be mad at ME.

Anyway, I have just enough pictures to go with a short rant about filthy vegetation hides!! The ones below happened to be in or near San Dimas. Unfortunately there are many just like them, everywhere.

Here’s a comparatively mild one. At least you can see where you’re stepping. The usual doggie doos were absent. The only thing I stepped around was a quart of used motor oil dumped next to the yellow truck. The trash was INSIDE the bushes here. Coords jumped all over. The hint said “four feet from the end of bush.” In an area with the ends of 12\’ wide hedges on 3 sides, that could’ve been a dozen places within 20 feet.
030809_hedges1
Why do I hate filthy vegetation hides? Let me count the ways…

1. You tear up landscaping looking for the cache.
2. thorns, brambles and stickers
3. sticky sap
4. clouds of dust and/or pollen
5. ants, aphids, snails and spiders/webs
6. disgusting trash and/or homeless gear
7. They break up your momentum during cache runs.
8. They discourage newbies…or worse yet, they encourage newbies to hide similar caches.

I encountered several ivy hides including one with used diapers at GZ! The one below had no trash. It still enraged me because it was along a backyard chain link fence with an even more enraged pomeranian on the other side. As far as I know, it wasn’t twopoms. But that’s a different rant.

The cache is in there someplace:
030809_tree_ivy2
Here’s the pom.
030709_pom1
Later I approached another cache where I almost kept driving. In the end the cache turned out to be NEAR, NOT IN the vegetation. But I think we’ve all seen similar areas that required bush diving for the cache.
030809_veg_wall1
After a few hours and lots of fun finds, I drove home to input my (non-cut & paste) logs.
030809_goodbye1
There’s a 32\’ high tree cache in North Hollywood but it’s not in a palm.

STUFF:
030809_bison4
HARBOR FREIGHT in West Hills (and maybe at their other locations) has these big pseudo-bison tubes for $1.99 each. The green one is a standard bison shown for scale. Have fun.

2 Responses to MARCH 9, 2009 – vegetation hides

  1. ShowStop says:

    I like bush hides. I think I’ll honor OlDweeb in one of my next cache placements in a bush. 🙂

  2. Capdude says:

    Well said Ken. I feel bush hides are a waste of a 0.1 mile radius caching area. One of the great things about geocaching is the fun of seeing how clever a hide is or respecting the time a hider has put into making a cache so that it’s not discovered by muggles. My favorite type of hide is the “in your face” type hide. This is the type that the hider as put out in plain site and daring a muggel to notice it. Throwing a small film canister or match container into a bush is not difficult to do at all. And then add the fact that most of the time it is covered in camo tape and that the area is usually covered in trees to make the signal weak, it just isn’t fun. One more thing I would add to your reasons list is that more times than not just after the cache is placed in the vegetation gardeners come by and trim the cache out of exsistance or the container is soaked because of nearby sprinklers. In both cases the owner rarely does maintence to rectify the problem.

Leave a Reply

