OCTOBER 16, 2009 – Pacific Grove

On my last morning on the Monterey Peninsula I made a left turn out of the hotel parking lot and drove through Cannery Row and reached the Monterey Bay Aquarium in less then 2 minutes. I saw it in 1977 when it was just a big hole in the ground with a “coming soon” sign and again when it was open in 2002 & 2008. So I drove past it to the City of Pacific Grove which literally begins a few feet past the end of the aquarium. At 8:00 a.m. the tourists were still asleep and I got to see the incredible coastline views without muggle distraction.
101609_peninsula1
I stopped to find a cache in the rocks All You Need Is Love (GC1K89M). I noticed that I’d parked in front of the ideal place for EMC of Northridge to regenerate if she visits the area.
101609_borg
Looking backwards from the cache…
101609_bay
I continued driving, stopping at convenient (and vacant) viewpoints every few hundred feet.
101609_rocks1
Some closely packed sea gulls all facing the same direction were too tempting a target for me. I remembered all the aerial surprise packages over the years and the fast food snatched from my outdoor meals.
101609_gull_zoned
So I extended my arms sideways and slowly flapped 2x. The birds thought, “OH S***, THEY CAN FLY TOO?!” Their brains are tiny but their instinct for self preservation is strong.
101609_gullsAfter a last look at the scenery…
101609_rocks2
I turned inland and found 4 “urban/residential” hides. I’m always amazed by the deer that freely roam through the streets and front yards. My sense is that given the astounding number or Priora (pl. of Prius) and the profusion of Democratic campaign signs I saw here last year that Bambi doesn’t need to worry about being shot and eaten.
101609_deer1
I found only 46 caches in ½ + 2 + ½ days of caching. Everybody laugh!! The non-stop trip home (a Prius perk) on the 5 fwy took 4 hours and 47 minutes.

3 Responses to OCTOBER 16, 2009 – Pacific Grove

  1. Elin Carlson says:

    Sooooo THAT’s where 7 of 9 and all them go for vacation… hm….

  2. Webfoot says:

    I was at the Monterey Aquarium while touring the area on my honeymoon in 1987. I can remember checking out the lagoon area where they had matte painted/green screened in the whale exhibit for the Star Trek IV Voyage home movie which came out in November of 1986.

  3. the ruminator says:

    PETA: People Eating Tasty Animals, mmm mmm Bambi

Leave a Reply

