FEBRUARY 11, 2011 – The Devolution of Cache Logs & An Annoying New Trend?

.
Online Log, circa 2001: Thank you for leading my family to such a beautiful location. My dog and I spent 2 months meticulously planning the 12 mile hike to retrieve this stash. On D-day we were off at 6 am for the 152 mile drive to the trailhead. The weather was a perfect cloudless 72 degrees with light winds from the Northeast. We picked delicious wild buffalo nuts and ate them on the trail. The dog was in charge of seed dispersal to start another generation of trees. Our GPS unit picked up 5 satellites so the accuracy was very good. The bucket was less than 70 feet from the coordinates… (on and on with 300 more words)

Online Log, circa 2003: Yours was the last of 21 caches I found on this record weekend!! Thanks for leaving the AA batteries. I took 2 because my ni-cads won’t hold a charge for more than 2 hours. I left a dollar and a big rubber lizard in exchange. Oh, I think it’s a great idea to use surplus military ammunition boxes as cache containers. The hand painted camouflage was a nice touch. Thank you very much for an enjoyable find.

Online Log, circa 2005: The caches around here are only a mile apart! 12 of us drove in a 5 car convoy and found 79 of them before rushing home to watch Battlestar Galactica. Now I see how those mega cachers who do this all the time got 3,000 or even 4,000 finds!

Online Log, circa 2007: We found a whole bunch of caches today and this was one of them. TFTC

Online Log circa 2009: Found w/new app. Used geosense for the last 30’.

Online Log circa 2011: Found all 800 in 14 hours. Whee!

Online Log circa 2013: (blank)?

An Annoying Trend?
An occasional single word “TFTC” logging on one of my caches doesn’t bother me. After all, most of mine are urban “numbers” hides. But even numbers hides require SOME effort to place and maintain. So a whole string of “TFTC” loggings mildly elevates my blood pressure.

Then an out-of-area cacher logged 1 word, “check,” on 7 of my downtown caches. This ticked me off enough to send him an annoyed e-mail. He didn’t respond but sarcastically changed one of his “check” logs to a page-long diary filled with the minutiae of his time at GZ. It amused me enough to forgive the rest of his “check” logs. I was glad to see that he stopped logging “check” on others’ caches.

Now I see a log type that’s going to send me screaming into the street if it becomes widespread. Some cachers are inputting BLANK find logs without even a “TFTC.” These aren’t caches on massive power trails. These blank logs are appearing for local urban caches. At first I thought that something went wrong with the logging process. Then I realized that these are incredibly selfish, lazy cachers who enjoy the results of the hiders’ time and effort and then, instead of saying “thank you, they say,

by inputting an utterly blank log.

There ARE some local cachers who sign physical logs and for whatever reason, never log online. That doesn’t irritate me at all. They’re not part of MY game. I just don’t want to see more blank logs online. I think that you don’t want them either. Let’s do what we can to discourage the proliferation of blanks.

6 Responses to FEBRUARY 11, 2011 – The Devolution of Cache Logs & An Annoying New Trend?

  1. geocass says:

    I completely agree. It annoys me too… A lot! I’d like to think all of my current hides warrant a little more than “TFTC!” or “Sent from mobile device” (that one really annoys me and I did email a cacher who did that to have a moan!) I have two trails, one 10 caches and one 14 caches. The first has a variety of hides which are worth talking about, and the second is through a lovely woods with wildlife, old trees, wild flowers, etc. They’re not (in my opinion) boring walks. Some people write beautiful logs for every single one, some write a couple of nice logs and the rest quickies, others write all quickies apart from one where they put their story. All are fine by me. Just as long as there is something, somewhere.

    Since laying the caches I think my logs have got a fair bit longer as I understand the effort that goes into them better. If something happens during the find then I always write about it. Sometimes I am guilty of writing “Quick find, TFTC!” because either I’m on a trail of 50 caches and can’t quite remember it (I now write down each one on a notepad to jog my memory so I can write better logs). Sometimes there’s just not that much to say.

    To me caching is more than finding boxes and getting my numbers up. It’s about carefully planning where you go, finding the boxes, getting the exercise, enjoying the outdoors, having an adventure, having fun, and then writing and sharing this with others! 🙂

  2. oldweeb says:

    Well said!!

  3. Muad'dib says:

    I haven’t had this occur yet. All of my (few) hides so far are urban hides, so for most of them there isn’t really much to say. A couple of them are unusual, and frequently collect good comments (GC25NTM, GC1FQ0A and GC1G1TF collect the best ones). I’m usually write something down about the find, but also have a habit of copy/paste for group finds, like trails, figures, and common themes (river bike paths, the Smiley and Pac-Man figures, and the Desert Golf Course series come to mind).

    What to do about this trend? Perhaps just delete the log entry, which will subtract from the cacher’s total finds. For numbers cachers, that might be a wake-up call, as it will mess up their stats.

    Should we even take the courtesy to send them a message… “since you couldn’t be bothered to even write a minimum log entry, your find of my cache has been deleted”?

    Muad’dib

  4. Scook says:

    I believe the main reason for the lack of logs is the increased use of iPhones and other smartphones for Geocaching. It is difficult to enter text for a log, especially while they are driving on to the next cache. And that is the other reason, since it has become All About The Numbers, finding 100’s of caches in a day makes none of interesting or special enough for a finder to write an actual log.

  5. Bibliotec says:

    Can you really delete a log just because you do not like what is written? How much can one write about a shirt hide? Usually, I do try to write more, making notes or taking pictures as I go. Yes, it does take effort to crate a good cache and yes it does deserve more that a TNLNSL or a TFTC! I do agree with in the main part with the comments but not with deleting logs you don’t like. Where will that stop? What kind of example does that set for new cachers?

  6. BigDaddyGRC says:

    Amen…
    Always enjoy reading logs especially on the couple of series I have out. I always respond to the loggers with a thank you. I let them know how much I appreciate the time and efforts into writing non-typical logs. I’ve learned myself to add more than the typical. It’s funny when I first started I would write a book at the caches with a actual log book. Then you see lots of smaller caches with a sheet of paper for a log with a name and date, well justified.

    WebFoot and Chaosmanor are fine examples of unique logs even when the finds are uneventful. With all due respect, those not mentioned, there are others that do this as well. I try my best to add more than the typical only except if they are a series like Route 66 Series. There I tend to write a long entry with copy and paste. I apologize always ahead of time. Thanks for the topic.

    George
    “BigDaddyGRC”

    Sent from Cardenas iPhone

Leave a Reply

