OCTOBER 17, 2013 – Onward to Las Vegas

Wednesday was a relaxed travel day. I left Barstow and drove toward Nevada, stopping at offramps where there were green boxes on my map. A cache here and there, then Baker where there were 5 placed since my last visit. For the first time there was one at Area 52 (GC46MW4).
20131008_alien_sign
20131008_alien_car
I bought 6 packs of jerky.

My next major stop was at Primm where I found a tricky cache outside the Buffalo Bill’s parking lot. After that, in Jean I decided to skip the caches on what was obviously the road into a prison.

This was a strange one Gay Fighter (GC2NVR) on the other side of the 15. I saw no gays, fighters nor anyone else near the cache.
100913_gayfighter
At the Southern edge of the Las Vegas sprawl I parked, ran across a paved street and found a cache. Then I walked thru this tunnel, under the street and back to my car. Don’t do this if you’re claustrophobic and/or much taller than me (5’7″).
tunnel
There was very convenient parking at this deserted dead end for one last hiking series.
deadend
This was the trailhead and cache OST 41 (GC20N1K).
trailhead
Eventually I ran out of desert and drove to the Alexis Park Resort, site of Geocoinfest 2013. It looked like a huge collection of old bungallow apartments but my room was gigantic and well apppointed.
room2
Even though it was still 4 days before the event, the parking lot had a lot of dust covered SUVs with TB decals. More to follow…

Leave a Reply

