OCTOBER 31, 2014 – Fort Ord Dunes State Park

On my last full day on the Monterey Peninsula I cached Fort Ord Dunes State Park. I drove to Secret Trailhead (GC1HVY6) and unloaded my bike. I stopped in the trailhead underpass tunnel to read the graffiti. It was very different from what I see back home.
101614_00_tag
The tunnel led to a great bike path. I don’t think it looked this good in 2009.
101614_01_bike_path
After riding to a few caches I noticed that my brand new tire with extra heavy duty tube was going flat. I put the bike back into my Forester and re-entered the park. This time I walked on a paved path that led straight toward 3 caches. The path was definitely not there last time.
101614_04_to_dunes
The first cache Barbed-Wire Zoo (GC3CVQF) was just outside this ancient target storage building at pavement’s end.
101614_05_target_storage
The next 2 caches were up a dune along a use trail.
101614_06_dune_trail
The ice plant ground cover was colorful and the caches were easy finds. I stayed a few minutes to watch the surf.
101614_04B_dune_beach
On the return trip, at the bike path I went North and found a cache near this building before hiking to parking.
101614_07_bike_house
On the ride out the road passed old abandoned army barracks.
101614_09_house2
My dad passed through here going to and from the Korean War in the early 1950’s.
101614_10_house3
The area was fenced off except for along a public easement to another dune parking lot farther North.
101614_11_house4
I stopped there, found 1 cache and couldn’t reach another one because a grouchy senior couple was sitting at GZ. Then for the next 2 hours I found random caches outside the park. The next day I went home with a total of 52 finds for the trip. Next? Finding exactly 890 more caches to reach 1,200 for the year.

Leave a Reply

