AUGUST 24, 2015 – TSP, Trippet Ranch to Parker Mesa Overlook

During a break in inferno like heat I drove to the upper parking lot in Topanga State Park at Trippet Ranch for a hike.
082315_01_parking
About 5 minutes later, I hiked right (South) at the sign, found a nicely placed cache Belly of the Beast (GC545W8) and left a Don_J memorial wooden nickel.
082315_02_sign
A few hundred feet later I sat on a convenient bench. I’ve always thought that it’s more for resting than sightseeing because there’s not much of a view.
082315_03_bench
I took a swig of slowly melting frozen Pocari Sweat. I prefer it to Gatorade but it’s $4.99/1.5 liter bottle so I only buy it on sale. The Smart Water cap from last week worked well with no leaks. I’m going to get more and use them on all future hikes.
082315_04_pocari
It was gear test day. At this point I opened my newly bought German hiking umbrella (picture later).
082315_05_trail
It’s been so dry and so hot for so long that it was a surprise to see lots of mostly red stage poison oak on the West side of the trail.
082315_13_PO
Eagle Rock was visible in the distance. There are famous caches (Scab Island / El Indio Amazonico) in the canyon between. Bushwhacking, crawling through hot humid brush tunnels and rope climbing doesn’t appeal to me so I never tried to find them.
082315_06_eagle
Today, I found another easy cache and repaired one of my own.
082315_07_palisades
90 minutes and 3 miles from the parking lot I arrived at Parker Mesa Overlook. No one else was there!
082315_08_benches
The haze obscured Santa Monica Bay and the pier where I had lunch (Bubba Gump’s) last month.
082315_09_beach
Geocaching.com’s map shows a series of caches extending from the overlook toward the ocean. I’d never noticed that trail on past visits. Two runners staggered in from below, saving me the trouble of searching for it. Only a few dozen feet in below the overlook it widened and became obvious.
082315_10_caches
I found E piʻi kuahiwi me ke akahele (GCPTGA) and saved the rest of the caches for another day, and a hike from the bottom. When I reached the overlook again it was full of people. My umbrella caused curious looks and questions. Despite the dorky appearance, it’s like walking with a portable shade tree. The silver metallic coating kept me much cooler than expected. I’m going to start using it on all hot, open terrain hikes.
082315_11_umbrella
On the way back to the parking lot a passing group of Asian teens snickered at me. I heard “BOBA!! BOBA!!” when they were safely beyond my reach. It’s a new derisive term for immigrants, “Brought Over By Airplane.” The umbrella must’ve uncomfortably reminded them of their mothers who take extreme measures to avoid tanning. It was a long uphill hike back.
082315_12_road_back
Including a short side hike, the round trip was just over 7 miles. It was made easier with Brooks Cascadia 10 trail runners, almost a pound lighter than my regular Merrill hiking shoes. They’re a favorite of long distance hikers. I’ve never rolled an ankle so I’m going to take a chance and wear the Cascadias from now on.
082315_14_shoes
Note: The lower parking lot at “Daid” Horse, closed for years, is now open.

One Response to AUGUST 24, 2015 – TSP, Trippet Ranch to Parker Mesa Overlook

  1. Mitch says:

    Still love your’s and Craigs blogs!

Leave a Reply

