JULY 16, 2016 – Las Vegas (north – desert)

When my dad was alive I used to tag along on his annual seniors’ bus trip to Las Vegas. I cached on foot while everyone else gambled. Nearly all of the seniors are gone now and the trip attracts families with children. I still go with my brother’s family. This year Las Vegas local Kris32 agreed to take me caching. This was great for me because over the last few years I’d almost run out of caches reachable on foot from the hotel.

Kris picked me up at 9am and drove us to 2 caches placed the prior day. We ended up being 2nd to find on both. We cached along the northeast edge of the city. Wheel goes round & round (GC6JC3Y) was her milestone 14,000th find! Weirdly I saw the cache walking up. Due to the placement you had to be exactly my height. An inch taller or shorter and it was invisible without contortions. Here’s Kris looking thru the wheel with her truck in the background. She found the cache after 10 minutes and lots of hints. 🙂
070916_01_wheel
Kris didn’t abandon me in the desert for laughing during her epic attempt. She continued taking me to some of the best caches she’d already found. Here’s one that’s a small box under a cast concrete giant tortoise. It was completely exposed in a random spot .2 miles from the outer edge of a paved parking lot.
070916_02_tortoise_fake
After lunch at Red Robin we took a break from the desert to cache on foot around the lake at Floyd Lamb Park. The greenery and water made the 105 air temperature feel cooler. We found 5 of 6 here.
070916_03_lake
Along the way we walked through an assortment of tame species while carefully avoiding their land mines.
070916_04_peacock
Back in the desert, now northwest of downtown, we took unpaved roads to a cache that looks like a giant bison tube. Pulling on the spring loaded red ball and releasing it launches the cache container out of the other end.
070916_05_bison
Here’s another fun cache the Kris had already found. She waited. I followed my arrow and then stopped because from a distance it looked like a coyote or other large animal was resting at GZ. A few cautious steps later it was obvious that the ‘animal’ was a realistic fake deer.
070916_06_reindeer
I ended the day with 20 finds. Kris dropped me off at my hotel at about 4pm. THANK YOU!! I’ll drive you to L.A. caches if you ever visit.

Later from my hotel window I noticed a strange lenticular cloud. See the tip of the Stratosphere below the left edge of the cloud.
070916_07_UFO
There’s more summer caching fun to come, I hope.

Leave a Reply

