OCTOBER 22, 2016 – ASILOMAR STATE BEACH (& adjacent)

Yet another bicycle breakdown ruined my plans to bike cache along the super scenic Monterey Peninsula coastline. Instead, as in past years, I ended up park & grab caching instead. My first stop was at a cache I DNF’d 2 years in a row. This time on an otherwise almost deserted coast, a muggle was firmly planted at GZ. He showed no signs of leaving. I had to move on.
101616_04_muggle
And the tide was too high again, as it is every time I stop for the cache hidden in the rocks. Someday I’m going to walk across. (I say that every year.)
101616_05_high_tide
I passed caches found on previous visits and the Asilomar State Beach sign.
101616_01_alisomar
Tucked under a nearby walkway I found a cache stuffed inside a rubber rat.
101616_02_rat
The cache below was an easy find hidden inside a wooden post.
101616_03_fence_log
I returned the cache and walked a few feet to the tidepools. Here’s an anemone.
101616_06_anemone
And this Striped Shore Crab would make a great cache guardian.
101616_06_crab
Normally, I turn around and drive back to Cannery Row. This time I turned inland and found a cache at this previously unnoticed lighthouse.
101616_07_lighthouse
It was strange to see a 31 star pre-civil war flag flying over the grounds. But it was appropriate for the historic location.
101616_08_flag
A short walk to the adjoining cemetery and golf course resulted in multiple finds. But I didn’t search for this vegetation hide because monarch butterflies were feeding there.
101616_09_monarchs
I drove 3 blocks back to the coastline and, with specific instructions from recent finder GSMX2, found the now muggle-free stairway cache. My final cache of the trip was Queenie’s Footprint (GC69346). I left a Don_J memorial wooden nickel.
101616_10_donj

Leave a Reply

